about ISSA
ISSA-award winners
conference 2018
summer school

About ISSA: International Society for the Study of Argumentation

The International Society for the Study of Argumentation (ISSA) was founded at the end of the First International Conference on Argumentation held at the University of Amsterdam in 1986. ISSA’s main goals—as stated in its Constitution—are:

  • to promote and improve the extent and quality of research in the field of argumentation theory and its application; 
  • to facilitate the professional cooperation of its members;
  • to sponsor, organize, or support public and professional meetings in the field of argumentation; 
  • to support or produce publications relevant to these objectives; 
  • and to support and cooperate with individuals and organizations expressing related interests.

Every four years ISSA organizes an international conference in Amsterdam, where ISSA members and others interested in argumentation meet. The ISSA conferences attract a growing number of scholars from every part of the world, representing all kinds of approaches to argumentation and a wide range of academic disciplines: philosophy, (speech) communication, psychology, law, linguistics, classical and modern rhetoric, formal and informal logic, critical thinking, discourse analysis, pragmatics, and artificial intelligence.

The Proceedings of the previous conferences—containing many important, often cited papers and keynote addresses from prominent argumentation scholars—are available in hard copy (printed by Foris in 1986 and Sic Sat in 1990, 1994, 1998, 2002 and 2006).

One of the highlights of the ISSA conferences is the presentation of the winners of the Annual ISSA Distinguished Research Award. This prize is awarded to scholars who have made a substantial contribution to the study of argumentation. An overview of the ISSA award winners can be found here.

The 9th Conference of the International Society for the Study of Argumentation took place in Amsterdam in July 2018. The information regarding this conference can be found here.

The members of the planning committee are:
Bart Garssen, University of Amsterdam
David Godden, Old Dominion University 
Gordon Mitchell, University of Pittsburgh
Jean Wagemans, University of Amsterdam